QQI Establishment

On 6 November 2012, FETAC completed its amalgamation with HETAC, NQAI and IUQB and a new integrated agency, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI), was established. FETAC, HETAC and the NQAI are now dissolved. The new agency will continue to provide continuity of service as it evolves. QQI will bring any changes and updates to your attention over the coming weeks on its website www.qqi.ie


Provider Registration

Aspirant providers are advised that, following establishment, QQI will implement integrated policies across further and higher education and training. Aspirant providers should familiarise themselves with the provisions set out in the 2012 Act. Aspirant providers should also familiarise themselves with the full range of options for offering awards that are part of the NFQ, including options for direct provision, linked provision, collaborative provision, second provider arrangements and alignment processes.

The wider landscape of further education and training is also undergoing a period of significant transformation. On 22 July, 2011, the Government announced its intention to establish a new authority to coordinate and fund Further Education and Training (FET) in Ireland called SOLAS. As part of the change, the FÁS Training Division is set to transfer to the VECs and those VECs will report to the new authority SOLAS in respect of FET. Furthermore, the existing 33 VECs are being rationalised into 16 Local Education and Training Boards (LETBs). These changes are likely to have implications for the structures and provision of education and training in the longer term.

Amalgamation of FETAC, HETAC, IUQB and NQAI
Providers wishing to update their websites or prospectuses to reflect the amalgamation of the four agencies, FETAC, HETAC, IUQB and NQAI, may find the following text helpful:

'A new single agency, qualifications and quality assurance Ireland (QQAI) will soon replace FETAC, HETAC, IUQB and NQAI. The new agency will be established by the Minister for Education and Skills.'

The establishment of a single unified agency to assure the quality of qualifications and of learners’ experience of education and training at all levels in Ireland will make it easier for employers and others to make sense of Irish qualifications, including within a global context. FETAC, HETAC, IUQB and NQAI believe that this move strengthens the focus on high quality learning experiences across all education and training provision nationally. The strength of current qualifications and quality assurance systems will grow, opening up new opportunities for people to engage and succeed in learning.

Learners and providers can be assured that the currency of existing awards and awards arising from programmes validated by FETAC and HETAC are guaranteed because they are part of the National Framework of Qualifications www.nfq.ie'

An interim website for Qualifications and Quality Assurance Ireland (QQAI) is available here. The website provides accurate information to learners, providers and the public on progress towards amalgamation.

Awards and Programme Validation

For details on FETAC's Common Awards System (CAS), view A Common Awards System for Further Education and Training. View also The Common Awards System - making the moves....as easy as A,P, C. The CAS Information Leaflet and our explanatory video are useful for explain the awards system to learners. Every programme leading to a common award must be validated by FETAC prior to commencing. Only registered providers, who have agreed quality assurance systems with FETAC may submit programmes for validation. View Programme Validation.

Information on Access, Marketing and Promotions

FETAC has prepared guidelines for providers on the specific information that they must make available to learners in order to fully inform learners about access and progression opportunities within the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). View Information for Learners: Guidelines for Providers.

Providers are obliged to widen access to education and training through the recognition of prior learning and by recognising previously certified learning. For information view Register of Recognised Awards. FETAC works in partnership with Providers to promote awards. Providers are encouraged to use the FETAC logo.  View Guidelines for usage of FETAC logo.