Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) Established

On 6 November 2012, FETAC completed its amalgamation with HETAC, NQAI and the IUQB and a new integrated agency, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI), was established. FETAC, HETAC and the NQAI are now dissolved. The new agency will continue to provide continuity of service as it evolves. QQI will bring any changes and updates to your attention over the coming weeks on its website www.qqi.ie.



Are you looking for a qualification that will help you stand out from the crowd? Do you want to find a programme or course to improve your skills?  What questions should you ask before taking on a course? Have you learning achievements that you want recognised on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ)?

Further education and training in Ireland offers more opportunities than ever before for learners.  From June 2010 until the establishment of Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) on 6 November 2012, FETAC made awards at levels 1 to 6 on the National Framework of Qualifications. These awards are now made by QQI.

There are over 1,200 centres all over Ireland offering courses leading to FETAC awards made by QQI.

FETAC award holders can be assured that their awards will continue to be recognised, both at home and abroad, and will enable progression pathways through the NFQ

Find a course near you by viewing Qualifax:The National Learners' Database.

To be certain that the provider is registered and can help you achieve a FETAC award made by QQI, view Registered Providers.  FETAC registered providers' programmes and services are evaluated and monitored.

All FETAC awards, and awards now made by QQI, are part of the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). This ensures that your award is nationally and internationally recognised and that the award can create further learning opportunities for you.

The CAS Information Leaflet explains the new FETAC awards system. View also our explanatory video. CAS awards are now made by QQI.

A new scoring system has been agreed for all level 5 and 6 awards, providing access through CAO to the first year of programmes leading to awards at levels 6, 7 and 8. This will be applied from 2013. For more information, view Progression to Higher Education 2013.

For information on progression routes to a variety of higher education courses in over thirty eight higher education institutions, view Progression Opportunities for 2013 and Progression to Higher Education Courses 2013 linked awards. Detailed information is also available from the CAO.

In addition, the FETAC publication Progression from FETAC Advanced Certificate-Craft to Higher Education Courses outlines progression routes available to holders of the FETAC Advanced Certificate - Craft to a variety of 3rd level courses.


  • Certificates are awarded for the achievement of major awards, where learners achieve the national standard in a prescribed range and number of component areas.
  • Component Certificates are awarded for the achievement of individual blocks of learning, which can stand alone or build towards the achievement of a full certificate.
  • Special Purpose Certificates are awarded for the achievement of a group of prescribed blocks of learning, generally for specific, relatively narrow purposes.
  • Supplemental Certificates are awarded for the achievement of individual areas of learning that are additional to a previously achieved major award.

Certificate Supplement

Certificate Supplements provide additional information regarding further education and training awards which is not available on the official certificate. Certificate Supplements contain information such as:

  • skills and competences acquired
  • certificate level
  • entry requirements and access opportunities to the next level of education and training.

More Certificate Supplements will become available in the future. Europass also provides information on Certificate Supplements.

Recognising Qualifications Gained Abroad

The National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) provides a way of comparing qualifications gained abroad with the national qualifications system of Ireland. This qualifications recognition system directly benefits learners, employers and recruiters because it helps the comparison and recognition of qualifications achieved. 

The NFQ is at an advanced stage of implementation and learners, employers and recruiters can now identify qualifications that are recognised through the NFQ. This means that you can trust the quality assurance systems behind the issuing of the award.  

Travelling with your Irish Qualifications

For information and advice on travelling abroad with your Irish qualification, whether for work or for further

study, please consult the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland's information leaflet

Travelling with your Irish Qualification.

Work Place Learning and Employee Training and Development

Many employers now offer opportunities for employees to upskill and engage in learning, training and development courses in the workplace. Some employers have even developed their own work based programmes and have become registered providers of certified learning.

Learners' Frequently Asked Questions

FETAC Learner Charter

Information for Learners: Guidelines for Providers

Learner Profiles

Events/Career Days attended by FETAC
Other useful Learner links

Useful websites