QQI Establishment

On 6 November 2012, FETAC completed its amalgamation with HETAC, NQAI and IUQB and a new integrated agency, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI), was established. FETAC, HETAC and the NQAI are now dissolved. The new agency will continue to provide continuity of service as it evolves. QQI will bring any changes and updates to your attention over the coming weeks on its website www.qqi.ie


Awards Info

There are 4 FETAC award types,which are now made by Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI); major, minor, special purpose and supplemental. These awards are made at levels 1 to 6 on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).

A new Common Awards System (CAS) for all further education and training was introduced across the further education and training sector. Common Awards are available to all providers at level 4, 5 and 6.  New Common Awards at level 3 were introduced in October 2010. Any programme leading to common awards must be validated before delivery.

A copy of the presentation from the briefing on programme validation under the Common Awards System is available to download.

For details on the Common Awards Awards System (CAS), view A Common Awards System for Further Education and Training. View also The Common Awards System - making the moves....as easy as A,P, C.

Managing the transition to the Common Awards System (CAS) - update 2013
Providers and centres can use the following information notes to manage the change to the Common Awards System.

Level 3 and Level 4 information note (February 2013)
Level 5 and Level 6 information note (May 2013)

They include information on:

•  The schedule for publication and deactivation of awards
•  The process for claiming exemptions where learners have previous FETAC certification
•  Examples of timelines for the transition to the CAS

Note that:

•  Only CAS awards are available at level 3 therefore providers must have validated programmes if offering these
•  All existing level 4 awards will be deactivated on 12 December 2012. In a small number of instances, minor awards     at level 4 are still active in 2013. These particular minors are named in the structure of existing level 5 majors
    which are still active. The level 4 minors will be deactivated at the same time as the level 5 majors in which they  
    are named.
•  Level 5 and level 6 awards will be deactivated between 12 December 2012 and 12 December 2014.

Further versions of the information notes will be published as information is updated.

Awards Directory
The Awards Directory is a full listing with detail, of the awards which FETAC makes available to registered providers.

It lists relevant information e.g. code, title, type, level, structure etc. Award Specifications, where available, set out the award structure, requirements and standards.

Registered providers should note that awards listed in the directory which were developed under the Common Awards System (CAS) have validation requirements which must be fulfilled before a programme can be delivered to learners.

Awards Overview
The Awards Overview outlines recent developments in relation to FETAC awards, now  made by QQI.

Common Awards at level 4, 5 And 6 which replace existing awards incrementally have been published in the Awards Directory. They can be identified easily, as they begin with the number of the level of the award and are followed by a letter indicating the type of award, M for Major, N for minor.  For example: 5M1984 is the code for the Level 5 Art, Craft and Design award.

Common Awards at level 4, 5 and 6 include for example, awards in the art, craft and design field, and in early childhood care and education.  The existing awards in these areas will be deactivated, i.e not used for certification from December 2012. Programmes leading to these awards must be validated prior to delivery.

For more information view The Common Awards System - Making the moves...as easy as A,P,C